Forum: GMAT, TOEFL, and other tests (4 Comments)

GMAT 590 Q:47 V:23. Pls suggest b-schools

• Posted by - shikhar - on 19 September 2013 - 12:17pm

Hi,
    I gave my GMAT on 16th Sept 2013. Here is the break up
    Overall: 590
    Q: 47
    V: 23
    IR and AWA - Yet to receive
    I have a first class engineering degree in Computer Science from India.
    Currently i have 3 years of experience in IT industry. I wish to pursue MBA.
    Please suggest some b-schools within my GMAT range.
    Also what is the difference between MIM and MBA?
    Thanks!

Regards,
    Shikhar

• Posted by - shikhar - on 19 September 2013 - 7:40pm

Hi Thomas,
      Thanks for the reply. I really don't have time to write GMAT again. And even if i write it again i don't think i will be able to improve my score.
      I have narrowed down some b-schools.

• Howard university
      • Thunderbird
      • Whitman
      • UIC Liautaud
      • Linder (Cincinnati)
      • Bauer College of Business

How are these schools and what are my chances in getting into them.

Regards,
      Shikhar

• Posted by - Thomas Graf - on 19 September 2013 - 8:56pm

Hi Shikhar,

thank you for your question. Have you analyzed these schools already? As for your chances to become accepted, for example, you can read the admissions and eligibility criteria. Let me know how you think about them.

As for your question "How are these schools" - again, this depends on what you mean. Do you mean how internationally renowned they are? Do you mean if they have connections to employers in a specific industry? Do you mean how fast their graduates find a job?

As for the quality, I recommend applying the suggestions that I gave you above. For example, you can check these schools about accreditations and rankings. Then you can move on with creating an MBA target profile according to your preferences and screen the schools' websites as to how close they come to your target profile.